The secret sauce of an entrepreneur

9 02 2010

The week after I posted my simple business plan, I was workin’ it.  I did everything I could to make at least one sales call per day to keep the momentum going.  I always found that after that first call I found energy and motivation to make a few more.  It’s always getting started that’s the hard part.

And so I’ve been thinking about what makes a good entrepreneur.  And one quality I keep coming back to is determination.  Or to better phrase it, “pigheaded discipline and determination“.

This means making non-negotiable disciplines truly non-negotiable, and relentlessly pursuing my business goals every day, whether I feel like it or not.

Add a dash of passion and focus, stir it up with some momentum, and I believe you’ve got the secret sauce of an entrepreneur.

Of course, the sauce isn’t the meal — you have to actually have an idea too 🙂  Anything missing from this secret recipe?


Actions

Information

2 responses

20 02 2010
Chris Fritz

I absolutely agree that determination is vital, in any new project. To maintain this determination, I find it useful to do something every day that will produce instant results. It may not be the most important thing to do that day, but spending a little time on it will give me the sense of progress – and that’s really motivating.

20 02 2010
Barrett Myers

I’ve never thought of maintaining motivation in that way, but it makes sense. My biggest hurdle to that is not breaking down my goals and tasks enough so that I have those really small ones that keep me going. Thanks for the insight!

Leave a comment