New round of beta testing

12 09 2008

Since starting my sales initiative that I posted about earlier this week I’ve been thinking about ways I could expand the reach of ClimbPoint and increase the size of my market.

I’ve known for awhile that ClimbPoint would probably work really well in community recreation centers but haven’t yet tested it in any of those facilities.  So, starting this week I’ve begun contacting community rec centers with climbing walls about participating in a no obligation beta test of ClimbPoint.

The general terms of the beta test are below, and my primary concern is that I’m being too generous and should be charging some kind of fee to the testers up front.  My rationale for keeping everything no-cost/low commitment is that I need users to attest that the software is in fact awesome and super easy to use.  I also need feedback on what works well and what doesn’t.

The terms

  • I’ll send out a full version of the latest release of ClimbPoint. Beta testers agree to install the program and use it to keep track of climbers at their facility for three months.
  • Testers agree to record their thoughts and suggestions for the software, and every 2-3 weeks we’ll have a brief phone conversation so I can understand how well ClimbPoint fits into the way they work there. As a result of our conversations, I may send out updated versions of the software to install and use at the wall.
  • At the end of the three month testing period Testers are free to continue using the version of ClimbPoint that is currently installed, with no requirement to purchase a full license. They’ll have the option of purchasing a full license at a 20% discount. Purchasing a license will allow them to receive software updates (which add new features), and receive email support.

Well, am I being too generous?  Should I charge a small fee up front for participation?  Will anyone respond?  Thoughts and suggestions are welcome.

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 09 2008
Bob Myers

It sounds like a good next step as these facilities are a step closer to the consuming public and for profit businesses. Also I don’t think your offer is too generous. Money is tight so there is not allot of extra around especially in community rec centers which rely on some tax payer support. And your offer will demonstrate the service you can provide. If it makes their job easier they’ll be all for it.

15 09 2008
Logan Buesching

I think that you have a very reasonable offer. The only thing that I would see is that you give them the full functionality even after they are done testing it. Depending on how much feedback you get from each customer it may or may not be worth it.

I’m sure you’ve thought about these, but my suggestion for alternatives would be after the beta period ends they get either a limited edition or it only works for a limited amount of time after the beta (such as 3/6/9/12 months).

Leave a Reply

