Spotlight on another startup

20 07 2008

Those interested in startups and watching micro ISVs get off the ground might enjoy a peek at the Agile Micro ISV blog (also linked in the sidebar). Tim Haughton, the author, is currently in an all out sprint to release and begin selling his document management software by the end of this month.

His decisions about a product name and logo were made in the span of a few days, and it’s been fun to reflect on my own approach and lessons learned while making some of those same decisions. I don’t have time at the moment to summarize his process and compare it with mine, but that’s something I’d like to do in the near future.

I’m also reminded of how motivating short development sprints like that can be, so I’m thinking of following along with a little sprint of my own. ClimbPoint 0.7 is pretty much ready to go, but there are some small details I need to take care of, namely testing — I can’t stand the thought of sending a half-baked product out the door.

Anyway, Tim’s blog is an interesting read…as for the sprint, I think for the moment I’ll continue on my “slow and steady” pace 🙂

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 07 2008
Tim Haughton

As Gimli once said of dwarves, we micro ISVs are natural sprinters; very dangerous over short distances.

21 07 2008
Bob Walsh

Tim is one of the people in the microISV whose blog is always worth reading. Go Tim Go!

Leave a Reply

