Feedback from my beta testers

11 03 2008

A couple weeks ago I spoke with five climbing wall managers who have been beta testing ClimbPoint over the last few months. I was able to get their feedback on the software, and I am stoked about the response I got. To me the feedback seems to indicate that I’ve succeeded in creating fans of my climbing wall software. The feedback was largely positive, and I got some great ideas for new features. Below are the aspects of the software that my testers were most enthusiastic about:

Easy to use
Installation at all sites was a snap, and “super easy” in the words of Robert Taylor from Clemson. It was great to hear Robert describe how, once he finally got a card reader from the IT department, he was able to plug it in and it “just worked”. Here are a few other quotes:

One of the most intuitive and user friendly programs on the market” – Mark Lattin, University of Kentucky
“The main thing I like is its simplicity” – Mike Maxam, Miami University
“It’s really easy to use” – Lynette Bowsher, Indiana Wesleyan University
“I like it…it’s fairly streamlined” – Jerome Gabriel, Bowling Green State University

Idiot proof
I’ve mentioned this aspect before as a selling point, and there are a couple priceless quotes on this topic:

“[It’s] pretty streamlined…there’s very little margin for error” – Mike
“It has done wonders in terms of eliminating our administrative errors…You can’t get rid of all the dumb mistakes people make, but this does a pretty good job” – Mark

A complete solution
Because I have so many great ideas for additional features of the software, it’s hard for me to describe ClimbPoint as a total package at this point. My testers, however, found that it met their needs for daily operations:

It has streamlined everything we do at the wall” – Lynette
“All of the functions you need to run a wall are there” – Jerome

Awesome all around
My terrific testers also mentioned that they loved how their staff could now all be on the same page, and how the reporting features save them from running daily numbers on wall attendance. But one of the best quotes came from Lynette, when she said “I can’t imagine not having it“.

Want to see what all the fuss is about? Check out the website or go download the free trial.

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 05 2008
Outsourcing design to get a decent logo « Another Startup

[…] For this question, I also gave Gary a few examples of logos that were similar to what I was looking for. I then gave him a two sentence description of ClimbPoint and summarized it as the “hub” of an indoor climbing gym — something that gives climbing gym managers peace of mind. Finally, I mentioned that I pictured a lighter shade of blue for the color (not sure why) and gave him a few quotes from my beta tester feedback. […]

15 08 2008
The state of software for climbing gyms « Another Startup

[…] The best option for recreation centers and university climbing gyms is ClimbPoint. As the creator, I may be a little biased when gushing about how simple and intuitive it is to use, but others seem to agree. […]

Leave a Reply

